About Me
Weekends Blog
Day Trips
Contact Us
Site Map
General Store

Marion County, Oregon

County Seat: Salem
Founded: July 5, 1843
Population: 305,265

Marion County Oregon Francis Marion, a Continental Army general of the American Revolutionary War, is for whom the County was named. The County seat of Salem is also the Oregon state capital.

Located in the center of the Willamette Valley, the County’s economic base is mainly the Government. Agriculture, lumber, manufacturing, and education are important to the County’s economy.

Located in Salem is Willamette University the oldest institution of higher education in the West. Founded by Jason Lee, a missionary, in 1842 it was the first law school (1883) and the first school of medicine (1866) in the Pacific Northwest.

Cities and Towns in the County

AuroraFour CornersMarionScotts Mills
Badger CornerFruitlandMcKeeShaw
Bethel Gospel ParkGatesMehama Sidney
BreitenbushGervaisMiddle Grove Silverton
Breitenbush Hot SpringsHayesvilleMonitorStayton
BrooksHazel GreenMount AngelSublimity
ChampoegIdanhaNorth HowellTalbot
ChemawaJeffersonOak ParkTurner
Clear LakeKeizerPratumWest Stayton
DetroitLabish VillageRosedaleWest Woodburn
DonaldLakebrookSaint LouisWoodburn
DownsLibertySaint PaulYoung

Return from Marion County page to Oregon Counties page