About Me
Weekends Blog
Day Trips
Contact Us
Site Map
General Store

Multnomah County, Oregon

County Seat: Portland
Founded: December 22, 1854

Multnomah County Oregon Named after the Multnomah Indians, who were part of the Chinookan tribe, which lived on the eastern tip of what is now, Sauvie Island, in the Columbia River. The County is home to Portland, the largest city in Oregon. Portland became the County seat on 1854.

The smallest county in Oregon, it is bounded by Columbia County and the Columbia River on the north, Washington County on the west, Clackamas County on the south, and Hood River County on the east.

Tourism attractions in the County include the Oregon Museum of Science and Industry, Portland Art Museum, Washington Park and Zoo, Oregon Historical Center, the Japanese Gardens in Portland, and the Columbia River Gorge.

Cities and Towns in the County

AlamedaFairviewLinnton Russellville
AlbinaFalomaMaplewood Saint Johns
ArletaFolkenbergMarquam HillSellwood
BonnevilleGilbertMaywood ParkSpringdale
Bonny SlopeGlencullenMontavillaSylvan
Bridal VeilGreen HillsMultnomah Troutdale
BridlemileGreshamNorth Portland Twelvemile Corner
BrooklynHazelwoodOrientUniversity Park
BurlingameHillsdaleParkroseVermont Hills
BurlingtonHolbrookPiedmontVilla Ridge
Capitol HillHollywoodPleasant HomeWarrendale
CorbettInterlachenPortlandWest Portland
DodsonIrvingtonPortland Heights West Portland Park
DunthorpeKentonPowell ValleyWestmoreland
East PortlandKings Heights PowellhurstWhitwood Court
EastmorelandLatourellRiverdaleWillamette Heights
EnglewoodLaurelhurstRiverwoodWood Village
Errol HeightsLentsRockwoodWoodstock

Return from Multnomah County page to Oregon Counties page