About Me
Weekends Blog
Day Trips
Contact Us
Site Map
General Store

Sherman County, Oregon

County Seat: Moro
Founded: February 25, 1889

Sherman County, Oregon General William Techumseh Sherman of Civil War fame,is for whom the County was named. The county is bordered by the Columbia River on the north, Gilliam County on the east and Wasco County on the west and south.

The County is an agricultural county with no industry. It has a larger percentage of its acreage under cultivation than any county in Oregon. Wheat and barley are grown on most of the farms in the County.

Because of the county’s proximity to the John Day and Columbia Rivers, Recreation abounds in the form of water-skiing, wind-surfing, boating, fishing and rafting.

Cities and Towns in the County

Biggs JunctionKentMcDonaldRufus
De Moss SpringsKlondikeMonklandRutledge
ErskineLocust GroveMoroWasco
Grass Valley

Return from Sherman County page to Oregon Counties page