About Me
Weekends Blog
Day Trips
Contact Us
Site Map
General Store

Wasco County, Oregon

County Seat: The Dalles
Founded: January 11, 1854
Population: 23,791

Wasco County, Oregon Wasco County was named for a local tribe of Native American, who lived on the south side of the Columbia River. The County is bordered by Sherman, Wheeler, Jefferson, Clackamas, and Hood River Counties.

The County’s economic base is primarily agriculture, manufacturing, transportation, electric power, and tourism.

Fishing, boating, and hiking are all available within the County. Golf, sightseeing, and other water activities are also available. A visit to the Columbia Gorge Discovery Center and Wasco County Historical Museum is a must.

Cities and Towns in the County

BoydEast MaupinMosierSimnasho
Celilo VillageEmersonOrtleyThe Dalles
ChenowethEndersbyPetersburgTygh Valley
Cherry HeightsFairbanks Pine GroveWamic
ClarnoFriendPine Hollow Wapinitia

Return from Wasco County page to Oregon Counties page